You are here


Alumna of the Year 2019

Now in its ninth year, the GDST’s prestigious Alumna of the Year award recognises the outstanding achievements of our alumnae, either philanthropically, academically, artistically or in their work, as voted for by alumnae, GDST staff and the girls in our schools. This year's competition has now closed for voting and the winner will be announced at the GDST Annual Reception in September. 

Our 2018 winner was Dr Nirupa Murugaesu (Notting Hill & Ealing High School) who won for her work in the field of genomics; with composer Anna Appleby (Newcastle High School for Girls) winning the Trailblazer award, which recognises a young alumna for exceptional, early achievements in her career.

Previous winners include Cressida Dick (Oxford High School), Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police, Jenny Beavan (Putney High School), Oscar and BAFTA winning costume designer and Claire Bennett (Sydenham High School), performance coach and former captain of the England women’s fencing team.