You are here

Notable alumnae

Discover former pupils of GDST schools who have excelled in so many fields

Academia and education

Professor Mary Beard
  • Professor Alyson Bailes (Belvedere) - Visiting Professor on International Affairs at the University of Iceland
  • Professor Mary Beard (Shrewsbury) - Professor of Classics at Cambridge, and Fellow of Newnham College
  • Anne Lonsdale CBE (Heathfield) - Former President of New Hall College, Cambridge
  • Dr M M McCabe (Oxford) - Emerita Professor of Ancient Philosophy, King's College London
  • Professor Shirley Pearce (Norwich) - Vice Chancellor; Loughborough University
  • Professor Dame Marilyn Strathern (Bromley) - Former Professor of Social Anthropology at Cambridge, Former Mistress of Girton College


Harriet Evans
  • Naomi Alderman (South Hampstead) - Author; known for The Power
  • Dame AS Byatt (Sheffield) - Author; winner of the Man Booker Prize
  • Harriet Evans (Notting Hill & Ealing) - Author of several best-selling novels
  • Anne Fine OBE (Northampton) - Children's author and former Children's Laureate
  • Frances Hardinge (Ipswich) - Author; winner of the 2015 Costa Book of the Year award
  • Sophie Kinsella (Putney) - Best-selling author


  • Jasmine Birtles (Brighton & Hove) - Founder of; TV and radio presenter
  • Emma Bridgewater (Oxford) - Pottery designer 
  • Mary Chapman (Sutton) - Former Director General of the Chartered Management Institute
  • Karen Easton (Sutton) - Co-founder of Café Rouge restaurant chain
  • Penny Hughes (Birkenhead) - Former Head of Coca Cola UK; Trustee of the British Museum; President of the Advertising Association
  • Clare and Rebecca Hopkins (Sheffield) - Founders of Balance Me beauty brand
  • Jane Platt (Birkenhead) - Non-exec Director, Financial Conduct Authority; former Chief Executive, National Savings & Investments
  • Dr Laura Toogood (Royal High, Bath) - Digital expert and author
  • Baroness Shriti Vadera (Northwood) - Chair of Santander UK

Broadcasting, media and journalism

  • Samira Ahmed (Wimbledon) - Broadcaster and journalist
  • Angellica Bell (Notting Hill & Ealing) - TV presenter
  • Afua Hirsch (Wimbledon) - Social Affairs and Education Editor, Sky News
  • Konnie Huq (Notting Hill & Ealing) - Former Blue Peter presenter
  • Suzy Klein (South Hampstead) - TV and radio presenter, BBC
  • Caroline Raphael (Putney) - Commissioning Editor, Radio 4
  • Susanna Reid (Croydon) - News presenter and journalist
  • Kate Riley (Ipswich) - CNN Anchor
  • Charlene White (Blackheath) - News presenter and journalist

Film, TV and theatre

  • Jenny Beavan (Putney) - Oscar-winning costume designer
  • Mary Berry CBE (Royal High, Bath) - Chef; writer and journalist
  • Olivia Colman (Norwich) - Actress
  • Mel Giedroyc (Oxford) - Comedian and presenter
  • Pippa Harris (Oxford) - Film Producer; work includes Call the Midwife and Starter for Ten
  • Bettany Hughes (Notting Hill & Ealing) - Historian and broadcaster – TV work includes well-known series such as Seven Ages of Britain, The Spartans and Helen of Troy
  • Miriam Margolyes (Oxford) - Actress; known for Harry Potter and The Real Marigold Hotel
  • Sandy Powell OBE (Sydenham) - Oscar-winning costume designer
  • Indhu Rubasingham (Nottingham) - Artistic director, Tricycle Theatre
  • Miriam Stoppard (Newcastle) -  Doctor, author, TV presenter and advice columnist
  • Rosemary Squire OBE (Nottingham) - Co-Founder and Joint Chief Executive of Ambassador Theatre Group and Alumna of the Year nominee
  • June Whitfield CBE (Streatham & Clapham) - Actress; best known for roles in Terry and June and Absolutely Fabulous


Sandie Okoro
  • Dame Margaret Booth (Northwood) - retired judge, only the third woman appointed as a High Court judge
  • Judge Frances Kirkham (Heathfield) - Senior Circuit Judge; founder member of the UK Association of Women Judges
  • Cathryn McGahey (Howell's) - Barrister, Junior Counsel for the Bloody Sunday Enquiry
  • Sandie Okoro (Putney) - World Bank Group Senior Vice President and General Counsel
  • Judge Deborah Taylor (Newcastle) - Senior Circuit Judge; Chair of the Irene Taylor Trust

Non-profit & charity

  • Dr Mary Baker MBE (Bromley) - Former CEO of Parkinson’s Disease Society and President of European Federation of Neurological Associations
  • Tanya Barron (South Hampstead) - Chief Executive of Plan UK
  • Ann Cotton OBE (Howell's) - Founder and President Camfed
  • Dianne Jeffrey CBE (Sheffield) - Chairman Age UK
  • Alison Maguire (Croydon) - Head of Research & Finance, The Lily Foundation
  • Dame Mary Marsh (Birkenhead) - Former CEO of NSPCC, independent non-executive Director of HSBC Bank plc
  • Anita Grover (Sydenham) - CEO of Auditory Verbal UK

Public service

Alice Walpole
  • Madeleine Albright (Kensington) - Former US Secretary of State
  • Cressida Dick CBE (Oxford) - Metropolitan Police Commissioner
  • Suella Fernandes (Heathfield) - Conservative MP for Fareham and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at Department for Exiting the European Union
  • Meg Hillier (Portsmouth) - Chair of the Public Accounts Committee
  • Rt Hon Margaret Hodge (Bromley) - Labour MP for Barking & Dagenham
  • Rupa Huq (Notting Hill & Ealing) - Labour MP for Ealing Central & Acton
  • Baroness Manningham-Buller (Northampton) - Former Director General of MI5 
  • Esther McVey (Belvedere) - Conservative MP for Tatton and Secretary of State at the Department of Work and Pensions
  • Dame Stella Rimington (Nottingham) - First female Director General of MI5
  • Alice Walpole (Norwich) - UK Ambassador to Mali
  • Rev Canon Alison White (Notting Hill & Ealing) - Anglican Bishop of Hull
  • Louise Haigh (Sheffield) - Labour MP for Sheffield Heeley
  • Fiona Bruce - (Howell's) Conservative MP for Congleton

Science, maths and medicine

Professor Alison Bruce
  • Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore (Oxford) - Royal Society University Research Fellow and Professor in Cognitive Neuroscience at University College London
  • Dr Jane Collins (Portsmouth) - Chief Executive of Marie Curie Cancer Care
  • Professor Baroness Ilora Finlay (Wimbledon) - First consultant in palliative medicine in Wales and President of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
  • Dr Emily Grossman (South Hampstead) - Science communicator, broadcaster and educator
  • Dr Patricia Hamilton CBE (Croydon) - Director of Medical Education England
  • Professor Alison Hodge (Sydenham) - Associate Dean, Engineering and Applied Science at Aston University
  • Dame Frances Kirwan (Oxford) - Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford


  • Claire Bennet (Sydenham) - Fencer
  • Fiona Bigwood (Croydon) - Dressage Team; Olympic Silver medallist
  • Sam Davies (Portsmouth) - Yachtswoman (4th in 2009 Vendée Globe)
  • Sam Eve (Ipswich) - Member of the first all-female team to complete the polar challenge
  • Sophie Hemming (Norwich) - Rugby; part of the World Cup winning England team, 2014
  • Sheila Lerwill (Streatham & Clapham)  - held women's high jump record for three years, silver medal at 1952 Helsinki Olympics
  • Hannah Mills (Howell's) - Olympic gold medallist in sailing at Rio 2016 and silver medallist in London 2012
  • Karen Pickering MBE (Brighton and Hove) - Swimmer; Commonwealth gold medallist; Chair of the British Athletes Commission
  • Sam Quek (Birkenhead) - Part of the Olympic gold medal winning hockey team at Rio 2016