You are here

Laurie Magnus Poetry Prize

The Laurie Magnus Poetry Prize was established in memory of Laurie Magnus by his widow. Laurie Magnus was a GDST Council member from 1907, and Chairman from 1929 until his death in 1933. He also wrote The Jubilee Book of the Girls’ Day School Trust (1923).

This year the poems were judged by Putney High School alumna Julia Rawlinson.  Julia has always loved writing poetry - a poem she wrote as a child was included in a Macmillan Christmas anthology.  Since then Julia’s poems have appeared in anthologies for publishers including Macmillan, Scholastic, Collins Children's Books, Oxford University Press, Bloomsbury, Candlestick Press and A&C Black.  Julia has recently written poems for educational publisher Pearson and completed the One Week of Poems series of e-books on Kindle.


2017 competition:


Years 1 and 2

Winner:  The Sea, Cilla Bose, Streatham and Clapham High School

Commendation:  Sneaky Me and Harry P, Cara Waldron, Wimbledon High School


Years 3 and 4

Winner:  The Weather Collector, Jasmine Lone, Sheffield High School


Fire, Aleyna Johnson, Howell’s School, Llandaff

The Magical Forest Cinquain, Isabella Williamson, Streatham and Clapham High School

I am..., Sienna Sisodia, Northwood College for Girls


Years 5 and 6

Winner:  Too Serious, Lily Cheifetz-Fong, South Hampstead High School


The Power of Courage, Lara Osbaldeston, Norwich High School for Girls

Recipe for Joy, Lyra Birket, Oxford High School


Years 7, 8 and 9

Winner:  The Girl Who Climbs Mountains, Tabitha Harris, Howell’s School, Llandaff


My Name is Not a Unit of Measurement, Insha Mehdi, Brighton and Hove High School

All the World Dreams, Isobelle Aphalé, Northampton High School

Prettiness is Priceless, Jennifer Wong, Notting Hill and Ealing High School


Years 10 and 11

Winner:  Pompeii, Rani Martin, Brighton and Hove High School


You and I on the Mantelpiece, Abby Khaliq, Sydenham High School

An eight-year-old boy’s empty war-torn pocket, Rinda Naresh, Notting Hill and Ealing High School


Years 12 and 13

Winner:  Marco Polo, Camilla Blakesley, South Hampstead High School


A Brave New World, Harriet Williams, Howell’s School, Llandaff

Kim K, Maya Devincenzi Dil, Croydon High School

Song Under Synaesthesia, Miriam Ritterband, Brighton and Hove High School

The Four Years, Frances Grech, Sheffield High School